Southeast Govs absent as Southern colleagues meet in Enugu

Four of the five Southeast governors were absent from the Southern Governors meeting that was held in Enugu state today, Thursday, September 16.


The host governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu state was the only governor from the South East that attended the meeting. His counterparts from Abia, Ebonyi, and Imo sent representatives while that of Anambra State did not send any representative. The closed-door meeting, which was coordinated by Ondo Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, commenced with nine Governors and seven deputies.

Other Governors in attendance at the meeting include Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta); Gbenga Oyetola (Osun); Babajide Sanwo-Olu(Lagos); Nyesom Wike(Rivers); Udom Emmanuel(Akwa Ibom); Duoye Diri (Bayelsa) and Dapo Abiodun (Ogun).


The Deputy Governors who attended the meeting include Prof Evara Esu (Cross River); Udo Okochukwu(Abia); Bisi Egbeyemi (Ekiti); Kelechi Igwe (Ebonyi); Rauf Olaniyan(Oyo); Philip Shuaibu (Edo) and Prof. Placid Njoku(Imo).


The Governors, first ushered into a security guard of honor, were later received by Ugwuanyi at the Government Lodge.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *